How to Delete Digital Certificates from your Computer
Creating a digital certificate for your VBA projects is easy, but deleting them is somewhat less obvious. This blog shows you how to use the certificate manager to remove certificates that you no longer need.

Posted by Andrew Gould on 06 March 2012 | 1 comment

How to Delete Digital Certificates

If you've been creating digital certificates to attach to VBA projects you may well find that you want to delete them on occasion, particularly if you create a new certificate every time you run a VBA training course!  The process for doing this isn't complicated, but neither is it obvious.

The Certificate Manager

In order to remove digital certificates that you've created you'll need to open the certificate manager tool.  To do this:

  1. Click the Start menu, type Run and press Enter.  Alternatively you can hold the Windows key and press R.
Typing run

Type into the search box at the bottom of the Start menu.

 
  1. In the Run dialog box, type certmgr.msc and press Enter.
Running certificate manager

You can also just click the OK button when you've finished typing.

The certificate manager will appear on screen, as shown below:

certmgr

You can use this tool to modify your digital certificates.

Deleting Digital Certificates

Once you've opened the certificate manager, to delete a certificate:

  1. Expand the Personal folder and then select Certificates.
Deleting certificate

Use this tool to delete a certificate.

  1. Select the certificate you want to delete.

Take care when selecting certificates to delete!  Digital certificates that were created for VBA projects will be labelled as Code Signing.  Make sure that you only choose these items to delete.

  1. Click the red cross to delete the selected certificate.
  2. Confirm that you want to delete the certificate by clicking Yes.
deleting certificate

Once you click Yes your certificate will be deleted.

Strangely, if you've already attached the certificate to a VBA project it will still work as though the certificate exists.  You won't be able to assign the certificate to new projects however.

Previously signed project

Previously signed projects will retain the certificate that you've deleted.

 

This blog has 1 comment

Comment added on 02 May 2013 at 05:19 GMT
Really Helpful Thanks!!!

A full-blown discussion forum is being built for this site, which will allow you once more to add comments and discussion threads.